WEIRDD returns for Season 2!


September 27, 2018
7pm, location TBD!

Poetry by:
Sarah Sala
Roberto Montes
Nikay Paredes

… plus a wildcard lecture by Irene Villaseñor on contemporary Indigenous art!


Sarah Sala‘s debut poetry collection, DEVIL’S LAKE, was named a finalist for the 2017 Subito Book Prize, and her poem “Hydrogen” was featured in the “Elements” episode of NPR’s hit show Radiolab. She is the founder of Office Hours Poetry Workshop, which fosters community among POC, LGBTQ+, and women-identified adjunct instructors. Her work appears in Poetry Ireland Review, Atlas Review, and The Stockholm Review of Literature, among others. Visit her at

Roberto Montes is the author of I Don’t Know Do You, named one of the Best Books of 2014 by NPR. His poetry has appeared in The Volta, Guernica, The Literary Review, Whiskey Island, and elsewhere. A new chapbook, Grievances, is forthcoming from the Atlas Review TAR chapbook series.

Nikay Paredes is the author of two chapbook collections, We Will See The Scatter (dancing girl press, 2014) and Reclamations (Vagabond Press, 2017). She received a BFA in Creative Writing from the Ateneo de Manila University and an MFA in Poetry from Sarah Lawrence College. Her work has appeared in Drunken Boat, The Boiler, The Missing Slate, and others. Born and raised in Cebu, the Philippines, she lives in Woodside, Queens.

Irene Villaseñor is a fourth gender Tornatrás Mestizx multidisciplinary artist. She’s pursuing a MFA in Art Writing and Art Criticism at the School of Visual Arts to work on a manuscript about contemporary Indigenous art. Her writing has appeared in VIDA: Women in Literary Arts, Yellow Medicine Review: A Journal of Indigenous Literature, Art, and Thought, and Nepantla: An Anthology Dedicated to Queer Poets of Color. Irene was part of the team at American Documentary | P.O.V. that received a MacArthur Award for Creative and Effective Institutions. She’s also received the Catalog for Giving’s Urban Hero Award and the Astraea Lesbian Foundation for Justice’s Women We Love, Women We Honor Award.